Art · Blogger · Coco · Disney · Disney Style · Fashion · Film · Film Review · Pixar · Style

“Remember me, though I have to say goodbye, Remember me…” – Disney Pixar presents, ‘Coco’

So last Sunday I finally had the chance to see Coco at the cinema.

I say finally because Coco was released in the US all the way back in November and in the UK we have had to wait until January! Needless to say it has been frustrating waiting around watching all the reviews and love for this movie pour in from across the pond and not being able to watch it myself! Also, why the need for the gap in the first place? I just don’t get it. Anyway, rant over, back to the movie.

After having to wait to see this film I have to say, it did not disappoint! I have always been fascinated by the concept of Mexico’s Day of the Dead, which we seem to have become more and more aware of in Western Culture in the last decade. It’s the juxtaposition that is so intriguing. Bones engraved with flowers, death celebrated in a festival of life, creepy mixed with colourful. It’s such a wonderful way to think of and remember people who are no longer with us. Welcoming their spirits back to the living world and partying with them in a feast of music, food and colour. The closest holiday I can think of in Western culture is Halloween, and even then I think we have a tendency to demonise and fear death, rather than embrace and remember.

And I think that is what I found so powerful about this film. Yes it was a colourful and comedic film for children but, in true Pixar fashion, it touched on themes that are deeper than that, without preaching a hidden agenda. Making you think, but not telling you how to think. Yes the boney ancestors are present on ‘the other side’ but the film also references ‘the final death’ when a person is finally forgotten by all those in the living world and disappears. Where do they go? It’s not decided. That’s up to you. And I love that.

This whole film breathes with colour and fun and music (ironically for a movie about dead people!). I often find that films can fall into 2 categories, films that need to be seen on the big screen and films that kind of don’t. And this film is certainly the first. The depth of the world that Pixar have once again succeeded in realising is something that really needs to envelope you in a cinema.

Miguel, the film’s leading character and hero, is a kid who just loves music, despite it being forbidden in his family. As a result he is torn between the passion he has and his family’s wishes. For one reason or another, this sees Miguel cross the barrier between our world and the next into the Land of the Dead, as he seeks the help of his ancestors to get him home. The Great-Grandparents, Aunts and long lost Uncles that Miguel has only ever seen lifeless pictures of, actually realised in front of him. How cool would that be?!?

I also LOVE the prologue at the beginning of Coco. This family survived, grew and thrived, because of a strong mother who, after facing adversity, got it together and worked goddamn hard to build a business that supported them all. #feminism 🙂

Admittedly, I am often culturally naive. But I am always interested and excited to learn about a new culture and a way of life. And I felt like this came in abundance in Coco. The Mexican culture was a character in itself in this film! This was such a great opportunity for kids and adults alike to really get the feel and experience of a different culture and learn.

The only problem I had (sorry Disney fans, but there was only one problem!) was that for a film about music, there didn’t seem to be much music! I know that this film isn’t a musical as such, but one of the key features that I had been looking forward to was the soundtrack, which felt a bit lacking! To my mind, there was only really two stand out songs; ‘Un Poco Loco’ and ‘Remember Me’. In fairness, these songs were really great fun and I really enjoyed them, they felt authentically Mexican but with a modern Disney twist to appeal to the masses. I would just have liked to have seen more of them! I particularly enjoyed the variations on ‘Remember Me’, with the song transposed into different tones and tempos throughout, which totally turned the meaning and lyrics on its head. Also, if you didn’t cry at the end when Miguel sings the final version of ‘Remember Me’, then you’re dead inside. And not the fun, Day of the Dead, colourful skeleton kind of dead in side, I mean you are cold to the touch. 😛

This film also has plenty of great twists which I didn’t see coming. And everyone always loves a twist.

Also, loved the inclusion of the Pizza Planet truck at the start. All about those Pixar Easter Eggs and can’t wait to get the DVD and find them all 😛

All in all, I thought this film was great! Obviously, although I am Disney biased.

So go get your tickets people! And DM me for a Coco chat if you feel like it 🙂

Leave a comment