Disney · Disney Bound · Fashion · Sleeping Beauty

“Make it Pink! Make it Blue!”

Sleeping Beauty is one of my absolute favourite childhood films and I re-watched it this week. It’s an unashamedly traditional, Disney fairytale. It opens with the classic Disney fairytale book and contains every ‘Disney cliché’, before they were clichés – a Prince saving a Princess, fairies, a witch, an enchanted forest and true love’s kiss. It’s one of the true Disney classics, hand drawn (each frame a work of art in itself) and is today hailed as one of the best animated films ever made.

Disney announced a brand new set of Tsum Tsum’s in the last few days, and seriously how cute are these! Cannot wait to get my hands on these on May 16th.

mdl_tsum-tsum_sleeping-beauty_20170418-525x398

And as a result I have been obsessing on Sleeping Beauty this week!

When I watched this film as a child I used to love (and still do) the scene in which the animals get into Prince Philip’s clothing and dance with Aurora. A sequence that has now become so iconic that it is mimicked by Giselle in ‘Enchanted’. It’s not a driver to the plot but I think it’s one of most children’s ‘memorable moments’ of this film, and I think any Disney fan has a soft spot for a Princess singing and dancing with some woodland creatures! So I love that Disney have embraced this fan favourite moment and included the Owl in Philip’s cloak and hat, and the Rabbit in his boot, in this Tsum Tsum collection.

sleeping-beauty-70.png

One of the criticisms of Sleeping Beauty upon its original release was that the film was too scary, and I have to say I agree; this film is at points absolutely terrifying! I am thinking of the sequence in which Maleficent has Prince Philip chained up in her castle, and she imagines a scenario in which he is locked up all his life, released as an old man with a life that has wasted away in front of him, practically withering away as he is finally released.sleeping-beauty-140.png

To say that this stuck with me and got to my very core as a child is an understatement! I mean, that is some pretty harrowing stuff! But as an adult this is one of the main reasons this film is one of my favourites. I think it’s a rite of passage for every child to be mildly traumatised by a Disney film! It’s character building!

Maleficent’s Raven (who I have just found out is named Diablo) was one of my favourites as well. Who doesn’t want a loyal pet bird snooping on their enemies and reporting back? Another example maybe of how watching a Disney film as a child and as an adult is a very different experience. As a child, the raven is intimidating and that’s a bad thing. As an adult, the raven is intimidating and I want one. 😉

Sleepingbeauty2

But…..my absolute favourite scene in this film (and I think it is for most people) is the scene in which Flora and Merryweather get in a little…dispute…as to what colour Aurora’s birthday gown should be. The “Make it Pink! Make it Blue!” fairy battle is a Disney classic moment.

disney-princess_254949_8

So this fun scene has inspired my fandom fashion for this week! And with Spring fully in the air and in the shops now I can finally start wearing colour again! (because let’s face it, in the winter I wear all black, every day).

  1. Make it Pink!

FullSizeRender (7)

Jacket – Primark

Dress – Primark

Shoes – New Look

 

 

I literally own so many pink items of clothing it was difficult to decide which items to put together for this one! I love the trend of pastel colours that start cropping up everywhere as Spring hits (although they don’t help with how pale I start looking before the summer tan has had a chance to come in!) I especially love the jacket in this outfit, as I think it pulls everything together and makes it look like I’ve made an effort for any occasion by just throwing it on.

2. Make it Blue!

FullSizeRender 1.jpg

Shirt – Matalan

Jeans – Miss Selfridge

Shoes – Primark

 

This is my favourite outfit this week. I feel way more comfortable in jeans, a shirt, and flat shoes than I ever will in a dress! I love the bright colour of this shirt in particular, I just wish I had more excuse to wear something so summery living in the UK. I thought this shirt was actually a really good find for Matalan as well. Usually I think of Matalan as being a bit ‘mumsy’ but they seem to be getting a bit more fashionable these days 😛

3. Pink / Blue DressIMG_6487

Dress – Miss Selfridge

 

So this was the closest I could find to a miss-matched ‘make it pink, make it blue’ gown! I think the splodgy design of the flowers overlapping are doing a good job of creating the illusion! So this is my attempt at a ‘Disney Bound’ of Aurora’s ruined dress. Now that I put the image of the animation and my pictures side by side I actually think this is a pretty good likeness!

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Make it Pink! Make it Blue!”

Leave a comment